My Truth, Authentic Self, and Asmita…

It’s taken me a while to understand what Asmita means. Textually it means false identification but how does it work for us? How does our truth, our authentic self, our Asmita serve us?

In the modern yoga era we all live in it’s easy to get pushed and pulled into this world of expensive yoga clothes, pretty mala beads, and quirky tattoos. We see the girl on the front of the class with her perfectly tattered flowing tank top and Lululemon boogie shorts bending and breathing effortlessly. We see this picture of perfect yoga and try to duplicate it. But how is this making us better in our yoga? In our lives?

I’ve been there. Buying those funky printed pants and researching different types of mala beads and their meaning. Oh the feeling of being the essence of marketed yoga! But this doesn’t serve who I am, my truth, my practice. You bet I love a new pair of yoga pants and tank top, but I needed to realize dripping in OM gear wasn’t my authentic self.

I’m still driving down a three lane highway, not sure where my authentic self ends but I’m on the right track. Finding your true practice on and off the mat is important. It’s an incredible and intimate journey.

Congratulations to those who know their truth and good luck to those still searching.

Leave a comment